RSS

Is someone stealing your tweets and your identity?

30 Oct

Take a very close look at the Twitter Profile given below

(Please click on the image to see a larger version)

Now look at THIS PROFILE which I call my profile.

Do you see any difference other than the first profile having my picture, my twitter bio, a wordpress URL that connects to this blog . You might be wondering what am I talking about, because the first profile clearly has my name on it. But there are loads of differences.

If you still haven’t noticed the first Twitter Profile handle says @pishuken who has 34 followers, who follows 77 people, is listed on 0 lists and has 870 tweets to his credit.

Now let’s look at MY PROFILE again. I have 1309 followers, I follow 348 people, I have been listed on 53 lists, have 7057 tweets to my name (I know I tweet a lot and people who follow me know that too) and I go by the name @Soma_G on Twitter. There are some people who know that I am @Soma_G and THIS is MY BLOG .

Something strange happened yesterday (29th of October)

(click on the picture to see a larger image)

This guy, whose profile screen shot is provided above, (yes this is how his profile looked before all this) who goes by the name of PISHUKEN,on various social networking sites, including Twitter, started following me on Twitter a few days ago and I started to follow him back. Why? Because  of the tweets on his profile, they were well written.

Everything was okay till last evening. Last evening I caught him tweeting some of my earlier tweets (that last tweet on top of his profile page is also mine as is the next one , mark the date and time). That as far as tweeting is concerned everyone does, picks up another person’s tweet and tweet it on their profile, but with a prefix RT with the @ Twitter handle of the actual person who had first tweeted the tweet.

It all started with this tweet of mine that he picked up and tweeted as his own .

I clarified with him as to whether he had forgotten to mention my name and this was his reply

(I retweeted his reply with my reply added to his comment as a prefix, a comment which he deleted later). Then he writes to me directly to tell me that he is doing this so that he gets mentioned and gets more followers. He has OBVIOUSLY deleted all those tweets.But here is some interesting read from his profile, after I piled on to him.

(Click on the image to view a larger version)

and then I noticed this, he had changed his profile picture and he had put a photo of mine as his DP!

(Click on the image for a larger version)

And as if stealing my picture was not demented enough, he had put up MY BLOG’s URL (https://somaghosh.wordpress.com) as his own URL. And this is not where it ends.

Now check the next screen shot :

(Click on the image for a larger version)

Look closely, he now has my TWITTER BIO A keen people watcher, a compulsive listener, a wonderer and a wanderer. These experiences one day will have a hard bound cover with my name etched on top.” as his own Twitter Bio

And it continued to get more and more bizarre, with him mocking me by repeatedly, tweeting my tweets, calling me names, constantly rebuking and  mocking me, using abusive language and bragging about lifting tweets from others as his “right”.

Then he got down to telling lies about me to other tweeple and began threatening me in a veiled manner through his tweets to other people …

I know who he is, I know  his name, the educational institution in Bangalore that he was a part of and his propensity to write on subjects related to HR and harassment. But I’m not here to reveal his identity or launch a witch hunt against him online. He has maligned me much (I know where I stand, on a firm ground and walk on solid earth instead of flying in the air like an air-head) but I am not going to spite him just because he has been insulting me. I think he needed to grab eyeballs with some cheap thrill and seek instant celebrity-hood on twitter. But then he should have chosen a celebrity.

Whatever his reasons were for such a “low life loser” behaviour are best known to him. I just want my IDENTITY back.

He has been told that trying to impersonate someone is a non-bailable offence an that the cyber police can actually can invite him to become a guest of the State. Like many others,  have often read about cyber squatters and the possibility of identity theft. Little did I realize that I would get to see it from such close quarters. And while some people might believe copying is the most visible form of flattery, I certainly don’t.

If he pays heed to this and takes off my picture, returns my Twitter bio, my blog URL and deletes the tweets he had stolen from me, I will be more than happy. I have already lodged a formal complaint with the Twitter authorities what remains is a mail with all the relevant links and screen shots to the Cyber Police.

Is there any one else out there who is facing such harassment?

Perhaps there is a case here for Twitter, Facebook and other authorities to educate social media enthusiasts on how to deal with such spammers and put an end to such nonsense.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “Is someone stealing your tweets and your identity?

  1. shubho

    October 30, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    This is shocking, could be damaging. I know some people are insecure, but this guy needs to be institutionalized.
    Thanks for sharing yr experience, I’m taking some steps to make sure this doesn’t happen to me, like this http://twittercism.com/identity-theft/

     
    • Rose Tinted Glasses

      October 30, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      Thank you Shubho. I’m sure this kind of negative publicity is not what he was yearning for 🙂

       
  2. ReviewGang

    October 30, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Shocking to say the least!. And the restraint shown in not revealing his identity is remarkable. Reported him for spam. Hopefully this nonsense will be over soon.

     
  3. raghavendrasatish

    October 30, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I don’t know how cyber police will react and how much time will they take to turn back. Let us know what twitter is going to do with him and if possible expose that guy. If i am in your place i don’t mine getting those kind of people in front of the world and show them what will happen when some one chooses to be on the evil path.

     
  4. Nilim Dutta

    October 30, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Stealing tweets is sheer bad manners. But impersonation is a serious offense. You have every right to lodge a formal complaint and have him prosecuted Soma. And you should. Twitter is a brilliant medium and it is public space. Only vigilance against its abuse will ensure that it remain what it was meant to be.

     
    • Rose Tinted Glasses

      October 30, 2010 at 5:14 pm

      Nilim, you are right, I was also not so worried when he was going on tweeting my tweets, but when he started to change his profile inot mine that was when it got crazy.

       
  5. Kalyan

    October 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    This is really horrid and you should definitely report it to the authorities.

     
  6. Ravi

    October 30, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    There is no dearth of such geniuses.

    Please visit http://support.twitter.com/forms/impersonation & file a ticket.

    Let Twitter kick his ass!

     
  7. Dibyasundar

    October 31, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    This man seems to be a retard. By the way, it also seems his account is suspended by twitter already.

     
  8. Twilight Fairy

    October 31, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Hi,

    yes, i’ve seen several such cases.. don’t know what kick such idiots get out of this stupidity.

    But like ppl must have told you already, (and u’ve done) u can report this to twitter, they treat impersonation very seriously.

    You can also contact @delbius on twitter who can probably expedite this issue and actually give you a response which may not come very quickly via raising a ticket. The account will be suspended no doubt.

    And why are you hesitating in launching a witch hunt against this guy? This jerk deserves it! Do file a complaint in your city’s cyber crime department as well as harassment helpline. Action will certainly be taken. Such ppl need a lesson badly

    cheers

     
  9. Arunav

    November 1, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Soma, you get your identity right back…I was nobody to take it away anyways…It was always yours…If you are willing to listen to me…do i get to explain myself?
    I never ever intended to ‘steal’ your tweets…before I got to explain myself (I unfortunately saw your DM much much later) I saw myself being discussed on your timeline. I decided to get back at you but in a cheeky way as you were unwilling to listen to me and were horribly angry…gradually things got nasty (from my end not yours). I totally lost it when I saw my Myspace photos and FaceBook links on twitpic being published for public consumption. And later you or one of your friends threatened legal action and threatened to post my pics on TOI. Was that fair?

    That is when I decided to get back at you and intentionally impersonated you. I definitely did not like doing that…it was an act of retaliation. And no…I wasn’t doing it for any cheap thrill either…I am in a one sided relationship and resort to twitter for penning my thoughts about the woman I love so much…I forgot to type an RT…which i should have…and as i have tweeted earlier – all my tweets that you see on my timeline are my own…just as your tweets are your own…they remain a your beautiful thoughts and can never be mine. Please forgive me as you would your younger brother. Love, Respect and a Thousand apologies Soma di. I take back all the words used. I hope you forgive me,Arunav Chakraborty.

     
  10. IdeaSmith

    November 1, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I’ve been harassed by a certain tweeter who is often seen at social media events in Mumbai. His comments, then emails and tweets went from creepy-stalking to bitchy badmouthing. I raised a hullaballoo on Twitter and some internet-influential friends stepped in and made him stop.

     
  11. Arunav

    November 1, 2010 at 1:39 am

    And I regret the inconvenience and distress caused…especially to a woman…i felt ashamed of myself seeing you tweet everyone and ask for HELP…I was out of town yesterday or else I’d have done the needful yest itself…It was not my intention to cause you distress…what I did was an act of retaliation at the spur of that moment. I dont care whether you take me to court or suspend my account….and i dont need to hide behind anyone…my identity and pics are for all to see…If I have done something wrong…I will face it and seek redemption.
    Regards, Arunav Chakraborty.

     
  12. ID Theft Prevention

    November 8, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    How would you know if your identity was stolen? In some cases, you may not discover it for months. However, there are early warning signs you should watch for such as:

    Your credit card statement or bank statement does not arrive in the mail as expected. (An identity thief may have submitted a change of address notice to your financial agency so you do not detect the charges he or she placed on your cards.)

     
  13. ricercar

    November 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    this had happened to me too soma. so annoying

     
  14. sonny base

    May 30, 2012 at 5:02 am

    the celebrity IAMCHOPPER has been stealing my tweets for over 1week and using them like they are his own, even worst he has over 500,000 followers who are congratulating him for tweets that are not his does anyone know what i should do

     
  15. Patti Genko

    June 16, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    Hi this is happening to me now. Although I haven’t corresponded wtih this person. It’s in fact been happening for a few years, but they just have my image and name as a place holder for their twitter account and aren’t even tweeting. Since my stage name and my legal name are different, I am not sure I can even report this with Twitter as they want all sort of ID with my Twitter name on it and with the exception of my website, biz cards and letterhead I don’t have any ID with my stage name. What can I do?

     

Leave a Reply

 
