RSS

Oh, for a question mark….

07 Feb

Me and my dainty right paw! And the cup tilted slightly. And almost in slow motion a couple of drops of the amber liquid jiggled at the edge, couldn’t steady themselves and took the plunge. Down rolled the largish drops by the side of my beautiful blue porcelain and “splash”

And all this while I could hear the right brain (or was it the left…) instruct the right paw “move to the right and grab that cup,  move it out-of-the-way, uff, cover the keys, cover the keys, DO SOMETHING!”

But you know how it is with dumb right paws, they tend to go to sleep the moment they are taken off the hook or if the mind has happened to stray and wander into Twitter.

And the keys, the four arrows, were left slightly wet because the steaming amber fluid had decided to roll off them and seek cover from me under them. And then to add to my woes, they found some circuitous way to paralyze the “z” and the Fn key. Oh, wait the backslash wasn’t working either.

So here I am, still trying to fathom how to go about my daily dose of clickety clack on my keyboard thus rendered defunct. Then the brain wave struck me. And they were two “dirty” words, at least I considered them thus so far,  that lodged themselves in my mind as the only option left,  “copy” and “paste”.

Yes, and if you are still wondering how I managed to type this “z” – how else “?”

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2010 in Coffee, humor, Kahwa, Life, Mumbai, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Oh, for a question mark….

  1. chinmay

    February 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Amusing 🙂
    You could use the On-Screen-Keyboard until you get that thumping pad fixed Programs>Accessories>Accessibility.
    Likely that you know it, and for the post “copy” “paste” emotes better.

     
    • Rose Tinted Glasses

      February 16, 2010 at 5:13 pm

      Chinmay, The On-screen-keyboard unfortunately doesn’t solve my question mark issue…

       
  2. Rose Tinted Glasses

    February 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Dear Chinmay,
    Thank you!
    That exactly was a question I kept asking a lot of “eminent” people and nobody could direct me to this “on-screen-keyboard”. Seems an external keyboard is the only other solution because I have effectively impaired the keyboard of my laptop.
    As for the “and” between the “copy” and the “paste” – I felt the slight pause would actually emphasize the actual time i take to copy and paste. But thanks for the perspective.

     
    • chinmay

      February 17, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      Oh nooo.. i didnt say anything about the “and”, the post was perfect. I meant you might be using the on-screen-keyboard but for the post replaced it with copy-paste, just as one does in creative nonfiction i.e. factual but modified for aesthetics.
      I wrote that offhand coz you said copy-paste was the only option left, in haste didnt put it properly.

      As for the question mark, just press the shift button and the “/” will change to “?”

       
      • Rose Tinted Glasses

        February 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm

        Okay! Seemed clear as crystal now when I revisited your comment. Thanks for the “?”!!!

         

Leave a Reply

 
